clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Daily Bee (September 24th, 2019): FIFA awards - Jürgen Klopp wins best coach

Plus Hummels possibly out against Werder Bremen

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2019 - Show Photo by Emilio Andreoli/Getty Images
  • FIFA football awards

FIFA has announced the winners of its annual awards, BVB’s ex-coach Jürgen Klopp has won the award for best coach. This did not come as a big surprise as Klopp’s Liverpool won the Champions League and played a phenomenal Premier League season that unfortunately not ended with the Reds winning the title. Nevertheless, Kloppo finally got the recognition he deserves.

Some of the other awards were a bit more surprising. Liverpool’s center-back Virgil van Dijk did not win the best player award which in fact went to Lionel Messi for a sixth time. The Barcelona star had once again an impressive season but he did lose to Liverpool and van Dijk in the semifinals of the Champions League.

Liverpool’s Alisson Becker won the award for best goalkeeper. The Brazilian who is currently injured played a vital part in Liverpool’s title run.

As for the women’s awards, USA-star Megan Rapinoe won the best player award. Rapinoe led the USWNT to their fourth World Cup title this summer in France and deservedly took away the title.

The Netherlands Sari van Veenendaal won the award for best goalkeeper and Jill Ellis who coached the USWNT, won the award for best coach.

  • Hummels questionable for Bremen game

On Saturday Borussia Dortmund will host Werder Bremen and might have to play without Mats Hummels. BVB’s center-back had to be subbed of against Eintracht Frankfurt but it looks like the injury is not serious. However, an appearance against Bremen is still questionable as he put it in a tweet:

The DFL will distribute the international TV-money to all Bundesliga clubs, in total the German teams will receive 254€ million. There are several criteria that play into the calculation which team will receive the most but the most important one is international success. Borussia Dortmund is in second place and will get 32.417.500€, Bayern Munich is first and gets 45.066.327€.