clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Daily Bee (August 21st, 2019): New BVB offer for Raphael Guerreiro

Plus BVB’s teenage sensation signs new contract

Borussia Dortmund Season Opening At Signal Iduna Park Photo by Alexandre Simoes/Borussia Dortmund via Getty Images

Borussia Dortmund have offered Raphael Guerreiro a new three year contract worth 5€ million per year. This would be a raise from his current 3€ million per season salary.

Hans-Joachim Watzke recently stated that it’s either an extension or the club is going to look to sell the Portuguese international until the transfer window closes on September 2nd. The black and yellows hope that this new offer will convince Guerreiro to stay with the club and help them compete for the title this season.

BVB’s 14-year old sensation Youssoufa Moukoko has reportedly signed a professional contract until 2022. The striker is currently playing for Dortmund’s U19 team and keeps breaking goal scoring records at the youth level. The new contract would help to fend of offers from other teams that will surely come in and run until he can technically make his debut at the senior level in 2021.

At the start of the season the DFL had introduced a new rule making it possible for coaches to receive red and yellow cards. However it was unclear until now if the coaches also get a suspension after a certain amount of yellow cards like players do (a player gets a one game suspension after his 5th yellow). According to kicker the DFL will vote a new rule today introducing one game suspensions for coaches after the fourth yellow.

The DFL will elect a new executive committee when the term of current president Dr. Reinhard Rauball comes to an end. It is already clear that Christian Seifert will be the new president and spokesman of the DFL. Peter Peters (Schalke) will be the first replacement, Oliver Leki (SC Freiburg) and Steffen Schneekloth (Holstein Kiel) will be additional representatives.

Additional members of the executive committee will be Jan-Christian Dreesen (FC Bayern München) and Alexander Wehrle (1. FC Köln) for the Bundesliga and Rüdiger Fritsch (SV Darmstadt 98) and Oke Göttlich (FC St. Pauli) for the 2.Bundesliga.

According to a previous report from Bild, Hans-Joachim Watzke had withdrawn form the vote out of protest against a formation of teams, lead by Hamburger SV and Hertha BSC, that are looking to change the current money distribution of the league.