clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Borussia Dortmund Announces Times for First Six Bundesliga Matches

New, comments

Save these times in your phone calendars!

Borussia Dortmund v FC Bayern Muenchen - Bundesliga Photo by Dean Mouhtaropoulos/Bongarts/Getty Images

The times for the first six Borussia Dortmund matches of the 2019-20 season have been officially announced. BVB opens the Bundesliga season at home against FC Augsburg on August 17.

Dortmund’s 2019-20 season-opener against FC Augsburg, who finished 15th in the Bundesliga and just narrowly avoided the relegation play-off, will be held inside the Westfalenstadion at 15:30 Central European Time and 9:30 am Eastern Standard Time. Dortmund split the matches last season, as they won 4-3 at home and lost 2-1 in Augsburg.

BVB will then face newly-promoted sides in consecutive weeks away from home as they face Köln on August 23 at 20:30 CET (1:30 pm EST) and then travel to Union Berlin on August 31 at 18:30 CET (12:30 pm EST). Köln are back in the German top flight after winning the 2. Bundesliga, while Union stunned Stuttgart in the Promotion/Relegation play-off to secure their first season in the Bundesliga in club history. BVB eliminated Union from last season’s DFB-Pokal in a 3-2 extra-time thriller.

The squad faces their first true test of the season on September 14 in the first match back from the international break when they host Bayer Leverkusen at 15:30 CET (9:30 am EST). It’ll be the first match for Julian Brandt against his former club, and it will be the first match back at the Westfalenstadion for former manager Peter Bosz since his sacking in 2018. Dortmund won both matches against B04 last year, a 4-2 victory at the BayArena and a 3-2 win at home.

Dortmund will travel for their following Bundesliga match against Europa League semi-finalists Eintracht Frankfurt on September 22 at 18:00 CET (12:00 pm EST). Die Adler, who were the darlings of European competition for their inspiring upsets and amazing home atmosphere, lost 3-1 and drew 1-1 against BVB last season, but will be without their star-striker Luka Jović after the Serbian moved to Real Madrid for €60 million.

Finally, BVB will host Werder Bremen on September 29 at 18:30 CET (9:30 am EST). Missing out on European competition by one stinking point last season, Bremen lost 2-1 and drew 2-2 against Dortmund last season during the Bundesliga and eliminated Die Schwarzgelben on penalties in the DFB-Pokal Round of 16.

Dortmund holds their first competitive match of 2019-20 on August 3 against Bundesliga and DFB-Pokal champion Bayern Munich in the DFL-Supercup. BVB have won the competition five times, with their most recent Supercup victory coming in 2014.